7 September 2022 Consulting Engineers South Africa have announced the finalists for their 2022 CESA Aon Engineering Excellence Awards taking place later this month at a gala banquet being held in Johannesburg, supported by Aon South Africa who have been their strategic partner for many years.

2022 not only marks 70 years of CESA’s existence but the 50th anniversary of the CESA Aon Engineering Excellence Awards. These awards recognise the excellence in engineering of CESA members and the valuable work that they do for their clients and society.

The finalists are:

Projects with a value between R250 million and R1 billion: the TASEZ “Cluster 2” Ford Frame Tshwane Automotive Special Economic Zone (TASEZ); the Rehabilitation of Trunk Road, between Ashton and Montagu; the upgrading of N4-8X (Maputo Development Corridor Sections 11 & 12); and Sani Pass Phase 2: Roadworks Construction.

Projects with a value between R50 million and R250 million: the Coca-Cola Polokwane Plant Infrastructure Development Upgrade; RMB 8 Merchant Place; the Retreat Low Lift Sewer Pump Station and Refurbishment of Existing Bulk Outfall Gravity Sewer; the Upgrading of Balfour Waste Water Treatment Works (Phase 2 and 3); Nike Shapa Soweto; and the N2 Realignment Umhlali Bridge to Umvoti Bridge.

Projects with a value less than R50 million: Brandwacht Pedestrian Bridge; the Msunduze River Bridge; and the Municipal Infrastructure Support Agency Labour Intensive Capacitation Programme in Gauteng.

Best International Project: The Golomoti Solar PV and Battery Energy Storage Project, Malawi; the Palapye Water Treatment Works Expansion Project, Botswana; and the upgrading of MR44/MR76 Swakopmund to Henties Bay, Bridge No.435 over Omaruru River, Namibia.

Engineering Technology and Innovation – HVAC Building Systems Design Excellence: The Wits University: Commerce, Law, and Management (CLM) Building Development; and Wits University HVAC Refurbishments – Dissection Hall.

Engineering Technology and Innovation – Renewable Energy Systems Design Excellence Award: The Golomoti Solar PV and Battery Energy Storage, Malawi.

Young Engineer of the Year: Kevin Decker; Michelle Lawrence; Swesha Machere; Prenalin Moodley; and Saiuree Nayager.

Mentor of the Year: Andre Greyling and Gengan Govender.

Entrants into the categories of Business Excellence of the Year; Mentoring Company of the Year; and Small / Medium Company of the Year include Bigen Group; Naidu Consulting; Maninga Engineering; and Nyeleti Consulting. The categories of Lifetime Industry Achiever; Visionary Client; Publisher of the Year as well as the recipients of the Job Shadow Poster Competition will be announced on the night of the event.


CESA Contact details:

Bonolo Nkgodi

Marketing and Communications Manager

Tel: 011 463 2022                                                                  


Leave a Comment